RSS

Review: Dream House

24 Apr

When I saw the trailer for this film I thought it looked interesting but when I heard the negative reviews I was a little cautious but at least it had a great cast so how could it go too badly wrong?  I can’t go too far into this film without revealing spoilers and even if those spoilers are in the trailer I should really try to avoid revealing too much.

Will Atenton (Daniel Craig) leaves his job as an editor of a magazine to spend more time with his wife Libby (Rachel Weisz) and two young daughters in their new house in the suburbs where he wants to begin work on writing a book. Will becomes aware of strange things happening around the house and he thinks someone is watching the house.  It turns out that the house has a tragic history – the previous owner Peter Ward went mad and killed his family, or so everyone believes. Will uncovers the shocking truth with the help of his neighbour Ann Patterson (Naomi Watts).

Even though I knew the main twist in the story from the trailer I was sure that the film had a few more surprises in store and even though it does they are fairly dull compared to main twist. I though t it did a good job of building up as a fairly typical psychological thriller for most of the film but the climax of the film is just a letdown for me. There was no doubting the quality of the acting from the leads and the supporting cast. The problem for me is that the story just doesn’t maintain the promise of the first half. I don’t if I would have preferred to have experienced the film in total ignorance of the story since I can’t communicate with that version of reality but even if I had I’m sure the ending would still have had the same affect. It isn’t a horrible film but it’s nothing to get excited about either.

Rating 5/10

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 24, 2012 in Entertainment, Film

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Review: Dream House

  1. Emma

    April 25, 2012 at 8:47 pm

    I saw the trailer for this months ago and thought the cast sounded terrific but it got really bad views and I never got around to seeing it, don’t think I’ll bother now.

     
    • Peter Anderson

      April 25, 2012 at 9:59 pm

      I had hoped that the reviews were wrong too but this time I agreed with them

       
  2. theipc

    April 25, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    Hey Pete – good stuff as always. Do you care if I link my site to yours? (I am not asking you to reciprocate) – keep up the good work, sir!

     

Leave a comment